ATTENDANCE EXPECTATIONS AND POLICIES
We are on a block schedule at Del Mar High School. Each class period is 100 minutes long and meets every other day, “A” day or “B” day, on Monday-Friday. There is no first period on Wednesdays, when Del Mar is on a collaboration schedule. On Wednesdays, classes are 90 minutes long and students attend their advisory class, which is similar to a home room. The collaboration schedule allows the Del Mar faculty to collaborate on Wednesday afternoon to go over curriculum, teaching strategies, and analyze student data and work. For a complete bell schedule, please visit our website: www.delmar.cuhsd.org.
Students are required by State law and district policy to attend school on a regular basis. Attendance and punctuality are extremely important to a student's academic success; students cannot learn if they are not in school. To excuse an absence, please call our 24-hour attendance line (408-558-3063) or speak directly with our attendance clerk.
At Del Mar High School, all teachers are committed to “bell to bell instruction.” Students are expected to be in their seats with all of their materials (e.g. charged Chromebooks) when the bell rings. Any student arriving up to 29 minutes late will be marked Tardy (T). Students arriving more than 30 minutes late will be marked Late Truant (L). Students should go directly to class unless they have a valid excuse. If they have a valid excuse, they need to check in with Mr. Jones in the office. If a student has extenuating circumstances, she or he may discuss additional options with an assistant principal.
A student is considered truant if a parent/guardian does not excuse an absence. Any student missing an excessive number of days will be subject to a review by an assistant principal and may face possible truancy proceedings. According to California Education Code, any student who has 3 or more unexcused period absences over 3 days is considered a truant (Cal. Ed. Code 48260.5[a]). If the student’s attendance does not improve, the student will be labeled a habitual truant. A habitual truant is a student who has been reported as a truant and has at least 5 unexcused period absences over 5 different days. If this occurs, both the student and parent/guardian may appear in front of the Student Attendance Review Board (SARB) to determine appropriate educational options.
If improvement does not occur, the habitual truants are referred to the Santa Clara County Office of Education’s (SCCOE) Student Attendance Review Board (SARB) to determine appropriate educational options. If improvement does not occur, the habitual truants are referred to the District Attorney for truancy mediation. Possible consequences of this process include:
An unspecified dollar amount fine (for parent and/or student).
Student work permit revoked.
Student driving and parking privileges revoked.
Minimum 1 year or more suspended driver’s license up until 25 years of age.
The following consequences may be issued for students who have excessive tardies and/or unexcused period absences:
Ineligibility to participate in or attend extracurricular activities including, but not limited to the following: tryouts for teams or plays, practice (sports, cheer, theater, band, etc.), performances, games, and dances (including no guest passes).
Work permits revoked per California’s compulsory attendance laws (EC sections 48264, 48293, and 49112).
Controls added to Chromebooks.
Attendance records added to letters of recommendation.