Del Mar High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Photo of Welcome Back Del Mar Banner
Photo of Del Mar Students and Teacher in quad after jersey gift exchange
Photo of Del Mar quad with IB Learner Profile lamppost signs
Photo of Seniors Dancing at 2017 Battle of the Classes
Photo of Seniors' Decorated Wall in Del Mar Corridor
Photo of Del Mar Energy Bus
Photo of Juniors Dancing at 2017 Battle of the Classes
Photo of Juniors' Decorated Wall in Del Mar Corridor
Photo of Bowl Scoreboard showing Home of the Dons
Photo of Sophomores Dancing at 2017 Battle of the Classes
Photo of Sophomores' Decorated Wall in Del Mar Corridor
Photo of Removed Athletic Field
Photo of Freshmen Dancing at 2017 Battle of the Classes
Photo of Freshmen's Decorated Wall in Del Mar Corridor
Photo of Front of Del Mar
Athletics Teams » Del Mar's Sports Teams Overview

Del Mar's Sports Teams Overview

Image of new Del Mar athletic field

We are the DONS!

The DONS participate in the Blossom Valley Athletic League (BVAL) which allows the student-athletes the opportunity to compete against high caliber competition. The BVAL consists of 24 teams.

Currently, we offer the following team sports:

FALL SPORTS:  Start Date - August 5th, 2019

Cross Country, Field Hockey, Football, Girls Tennis, Girls Volleyball

WINTER SPORTS:  Start Date - TBC

Boys Basketball, Girls Basketball, Boys Soccer, Girls Soccer, Wrestling

SPRING SPORTS:  Start Date - TBC

Badminton, Baseball, Boys Golf, Softball, Swimming, Boys Tennis, Track & Field, Boys Volleyball

NOTE:  To play any sport at Del Mar, you must register on Athletic Clearance and upload an updated physical examination form (or submit your form to Mr. Castaneda.)  Download the 2019-20 form below:

 
DEL MAR'S SPORTS TEAMS & COACHES LIST
 
For more information about Del Mar's team sports, feel free to contact the head coach below.
 
SPORT COACH EMAIL
Athletics Director Ryan Castaneda rcastaneda@cuhsd.org
Badminton Jesse Ramirez jaramire@cuhsd.org
Baseball Wes Howell wdhowell@westliberty.edu 
Baseball - JV Open  
Basketball - Boys Mark Collins Mark_Collins12@hotmail.com
Basketball - Boys F/S Jeff Dong
Basketball - Girls Bill Murray erfmurray@aol.com
Basketball - Girls JV JK McGill TBC
Cross Country
 
Marisol Hood
Cole Saterfield
Field Hockey Stacey Chase schase@cuhsd.org
Field Hockey - JV Megan Read meganmread@gmail.com
Football Shin Kong shintarokong@gmail.com
Football - JV Avido Sainz
Golf Mel Lindberg
Soccer - Boys Ryan Castaneda rcastaneda@cuhsd.org
Soccer - Boys JV Dorian Carrasco carrascod11@gmail.com 
Soccer - Girls Open  
Soccer - Girls JV Open  
Softball Sal Mendoza smendoza2013@yahoo.com
Softball - JV Christina Mendoza
Swimming Vivian Moussa vmoussa@cuhsd.org
Tennis - Boys Jay Grover jgrover@cushd.org
Tennis - Girls Jay Grover jgrover@cushd.org
Track and Field David Sciplin Dasmas360@gmail.com
Volleyball - Boys/Girls - Varsity Mike Aitken maitken@cuhsd.org
Volleyball - Girls - JV
Volleyball - Girls - Freshmen
Toby Wilson
Eric Rodriguez
TBC
Wrestling
Shannon O'Grady sogrady@pacjetllc.com