Del Mar's Sports Teams Overview

Image of new Del Mar athletic field

We are the DONS!

The DONS participate in the Blossom Valley Athletic League (BVAL) which allows the student-athletes the opportunity to compete against high caliber competition. The BVAL consists of 24 teams.

Currently, we offer the following team sports:

FALL SPORTS:

Cross Country, Field Hockey, Football, Girls Tennis, Girls Volleyball

WINTER SPORTS:

Boys Basketball, Girls Basketball, Boys Soccer, Girls Soccer, Wrestling

SPRING SPORTS:

Badminton, Baseball, Boys Golf, Softball, Swimming, Boys Tennis, Track & Field, Boys Volleyball

NOTE:  To play any sport at Del Mar, you must register on Athletic Clearance at www.athleticclearance.com/login.php, and upload an updated physical examination form. You may also submit your form to Mr. Castaneda.  Download the 2021-22 form below:

 
DEL MAR'S SPORTS TEAMS & COACHES LIST
 
For more information about Del Mar's team sports, feel free to contact the head coach below.
 
SPORT COACH EMAIL
Athletics Director Ryan Castaneda rcastaneda@cuhsd.org
Badminton Brian Arias brianarias52@gmail.com
Baseball Kevin Hashimoto khashimoto@cuhsd.org 
Baseball - JV Jacob Chapman Jacobchapmangsoc@gmail.com
Basketball - Boys Mark Collins mcollins@stratfordschools.com
Basketball - Boys F/S Mark Collins mcollins@stratfordschools.com
Basketball - Girls Bill Murray erfmurray@aol.com
Basketball - Girls JV JK McGill jk.hijinx@gmail.com
Cross Country
Cole Satterfield
Field Hockey TBD  
Field Hockey - JV TBD  
Football - Varsity & JV Robert Chapman rchapman@scusd.net
Golf Mel Lindberg
Soccer - Boys  Aliou Diallo  coolaliou2005@yahoo.com
Soccer - Boys JV  Aliou Diallo  coolaliou2005@yahoo.com
Soccer - Girls  Juan Martinez 15martinezj15@gmail.com
Soccer - Girls JV Juan Martinez 15martinezj15@gmail.com
Softball TBD  
Softball - JV TBD  
Swimming Ron Usher rusher@yahoo.com
Tennis - Boys Tom Heckley theckley@aol.com
Tennis - Girls Tom Heckley theckley@aol.com
Track and Field David Sciplin Dasmas360@gmail.com
Volleyball - Boys - Varsity & JV Toby Wilson toby.wilson@outlook.com
Volleyball - Girls - Varsity, JV & Freshmen
Toby Wilson
Water Polo - Boys & Girls
Ron Usher rsusher@yahoo.com
Wrestling
Shannon O'Grady sogrady@pacjetllc.com