Del Mar High School

Skip to main content
Mobile Menu
Photo of Welcome Back Del Mar Banner
Photo of Del Mar Students and Teacher in quad after jersey gift exchange
Photo of Del Mar quad with IB Learner Profile lamppost signs
Photo of Seniors Dancing at 2017 Battle of the Classes
Photo of Seniors' Decorated Wall in Del Mar Corridor
Photo of Del Mar Energy Bus
Photo of Juniors Dancing at 2017 Battle of the Classes
Photo of Juniors' Decorated Wall in Del Mar Corridor
Photo of Bowl Scoreboard showing Home of the Dons
Photo of Sophomores Dancing at 2017 Battle of the Classes
Photo of Sophomores' Decorated Wall in Del Mar Corridor
Photo of Removed Athletic Field
Photo of Freshmen Dancing at 2017 Battle of the Classes
Photo of Freshmen's Decorated Wall in Del Mar Corridor
Photo of Front of Del Mar

Del Mar's Sports Teams Overview

Image of new Del Mar athletic field

We are the DONS!

The DONS participate in the Blossom Valley Athletic League (BVAL) which allows the student-athletes the opportunity to compete against high caliber competition. The BVAL consists of 24 teams.

Currently, we offer the following team sports:

FALL SPORTS:

Cross Country, Field Hockey, Football, Girls Tennis, Girls Volleyball

WINTER SPORTS:

Boys Basketball, Girls Basketball, Boys Soccer, Girls Soccer, Wrestling

SPRING SPORTS:

Badminton, Baseball, Boys Golf, Softball, Swimming, Boys Tennis, Track & Field, Boys Volleyball

NOTE:  To play any sport at Del Mar, you must register on Athletic Clearance (at www.athleticclearance.com/login.php) and upload an updated physical examination form. You may also submit your form to Mr. Castaneda.  Download the 2019-20 form below:

 
DEL MAR'S SPORTS TEAMS & COACHES LIST
 
For more information about Del Mar's team sports, feel free to contact the head coach below.
 
SPORT COACH EMAIL
Athletics Director Ryan Castaneda rcastaneda@cuhsd.org
Badminton Jesse Ramirez jaramire@cuhsd.org
Baseball Kevin Hashimoto khashimoto@cuhsd.org 
Baseball - JV Jacob Chapman Jacobchapmangsoc@gmail.com
Basketball - Boys Mark Collins Mark_Collins12@hotmail.com
Basketball - Boys F/S Jeff Dong
Basketball - Girls Bill Murray erfmurray@aol.com
Basketball - Girls JV JK McGill jk.hijinx@gmail.com
Cross Country
 
Marisol Hood
Cole Satterfield
Field Hockey Stacey Chase schase@cuhsd.org
Field Hockey - JV TBD  
Football Shin Kong shintarokong@gmail.com
Football - JV TBD
 
Golf Mel Lindberg
Soccer - Boys Ryan Castaneda rcastaneda@cuhsd.org
Soccer - Boys JV Hector Hernandez hhector524@gmail.com
Soccer - Girls Dorian Carrasco carrascod11@gmail.com
Soccer - Girls JV Juan Martinez 15martinezj15@gmail.com
Softball Eric Rivera erivera@cuhsd.org
Softball - JV Eric Rodriguez erodriguez@cuhsd.org
Swimming Ron Usher rusher@yahoo.com
Tennis - Boys Tom Heckley theckley@aol.com
Tennis - Girls TBD  
Track and Field David Sciplin Dasmas360@gmail.com
Volleyball - Boys/Girls - Varsity Mike Aitken maitken@cuhsd.org
Volleyball - Boys - JV
Mike Schaffer
Volleyball - Girls - JV
Volleyball - Girls - Freshmen
Toby Wilson
Eric Rodriguez
Wrestling
Shannon O'Grady sogrady@pacjetllc.com